OUR BACKGROUND

A significant number of the areas within the South Fremantle Football Clubs’ recruiting zones are identified as low-socio economic and feature a high number of at-risk and disengaged youth. In March 2017, the Stephen Michael Foundation was formed by the club to deliver programs that support the development of these youth as valued members of their communities.

Stephen Michael is widely considered to be one of the greatest ever players from Western Australia and certainly one of the greatest in the history of the South Fremantle Football Club. Throughout his life, Stephen has demonstrated great values and integrity and is considered the perfect role model to have a foundation honouring his name.

Following its’ launch in March 2017, the foundation established key partnerships with the Department of Local Government, Sport & Cultural Industries, Sandfire Resources and West Gold Mining to initiate program activities. The foundation also consulted with local community members in Meekatharra and with Fremantle College to develop a range of school-based sporting and leadership programs.

Since that time the foundation has expanded to provide a broad range of program activities reaching over 3,000 youth across metro and regional Western Australia each year.

Download our
2020 Annual Report

OUR PILLARS

Download our
2018-2021 Strategic Plan

OUR BOARD

Stephen Michael

Foundation Patron
AFL & WAFL Hall of Fame

Tom Bottrell

Chairperson

WAFC Executive Manager – Country Football, Affiliates and Facilities

Ashley Dawson

Board Member, Director Geers Sullivan CPA

Libby Alcock

Group Marketing Manager – ABN Group

Gordon Gatti

Teacher, All Saints’ College

Glen Mesch

Head of Shadforth WA

Mervyn (Nick) Abraham

Nyoongar Bridiya

Julie Waud

Senior Solicitor – Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia Ltd.

Antoni Grover

Executive Officer – Combat Sports Commission

OUR TEAM

Paul Mugambwa

Chief Executive Officer
paul@smfoundation.org.au

Liam Anthony

Program Manager
liam@smfoundation.org.au

Julie Jackson

Business Development Manager
julie@smfoundation.org.au

Louanne Porter

Community Projects Coordinator
lou@smfoundation.org.au

Tony Micale

Coach Development Coordinator
tony@smfoundation.org.au

Mark Holford

Umpire Program Coordinator
mark@smfoundation.org.au

Rory Yates

Metro Program Coordinator
rory@smfoundation.org.au

Andrew McCarrey

Program Coordinator
Andrew@smfoundation.org.au

Ijah Coyle

South West Program Coordinator
ijah@smfoundation.org.au

Max Bilcich

South West Program Coordinator
max@smfoundation.org.au

Tessa Daly

Gascoyne Program Coordinator
tessa@smfoundation.org.au

Wesley Ward

Murchison Program Coordinator
wes@smfoundation.org.au

Olivia Readings

Media Officer
olivia@smfoundation.org.au

Kate Inglis-Hodge

Metro Program Officer
kate@smfoundation.org.au

Sophie Hammond

Program Coordinator
sophie@smfoundation.org.au

Tom Lawrence

Program Coordinator
thomas@smfoundation.org.au

Georgia Nannup

Program Coordinator
georgia@smfoundation.org.au

Toby Prunty

 Program Coordinator
toby@smfoundation.org.au

Brendon Ah Chee

 Program Coordinator
brendon@smfoundation.org.au

Maddi Hewson

 Program Coordinator
maddi@smfoundation.org.au

Stephen Michael Foundation logo

Respect    Inclusion    Trust • Empowerment

© 2023 Stephen Michael Foundation
Website by Tangelo Creative